Sustainable Winners


The President’s Task Force on Sustainability and the Environmental and Sustainability Studies Program announces the winners of the Fifth Annual Sustainability Project Competition!


First Year Category:

Housing in a Bottle

Rachel Kennedy, Rita Newman, Jennifer Wallace, Adriana Reyes, Nathan George

Advisor:  Diran Apelian


Undergraduate Category:

Intelligent Preprocessing of Electronic Waste during Recycling: A Source for Critical Materials

Amy Loomis, Patrick Ford

Advisor:  Diran Apelian, Jeanine Plummer


Graduate Category:

Treatment of 1,4-Dioxane in Water: Sustainable Treatment Options

Julie Bliss

Advisor, John Bergendahl