2022 Projects

In B term 2022, Professor Dominic Golding and Professor Bruce Bursten advised five student teams conducting projects with the Nantucket Historical Association, Sustainable Nantucket, the Nantucket Community School, the Nantucket Transportation Manager, the Nantucket Energy Office, the Nantucket Planning Office, and the Nantucket Preservation Trust.

A recording of the final presentations is available here courtesy of NCTV18.

We would like to thank all our project sponsors for making these collaborative research opportunities available to our students. We would also like to thank the following:

  • Young’s Bicycle Shop for generously providing the advisor and students with bicycles for their stay.
  • Peter McEachern and his staff at the Nantucket Yacht Club for providing student accommodation.
  • Cecil Barron Jensen, Rachel Hobart, Virna Gonzalez, and Anne Dougherty at ReMain Nantucket for underwriting the Treasure Hunt.
  • Mary Emery Lacoursiere and Miranda Dale at the NHA for devising the Treasure Hunt.
  • The Nantucket Historical Association for allowing students access to the Whaling Museum.
  • Chuck Allard for opening the Shipwreck & Lifesaving Museum to our students.
  • Laura Freedman and the MMA staff for allowing students to join the Look Up programs at Loines Observatory
  • Matt Hunt for allowing students to use the gym facilities at the High School.
  • Nantucket Community TV for recording the proceedings.