Trainees

James Akl 
PhD Student 
Robotics Engineering 
jgakl@wpi.edu
My research develops a collaborative robotic platform for metal scrap cutting that leverages worker expertise and increases their efficiency and safety.
Fadi Alladkani 
PhD Student 
Robotics Engineering 
fmalladkani@wpi.edu
My research aims to improve sorting and separation of mixed-waste in the recycling industry using a human-robot collaboration architecture.
Trevor Bond 
PhD Student 
Mechanical Engineering 
tbond@wpi.edu
My research aims to improve mechanical properties of cold spray additive manufacturing through robotic control of spray parameters.
Josiah Boucher 
PhD Student 
Interactive Media and Game Development
jdboucher@wpi.edu
My research aims to  create practical applications for game design practices in real-world spaces like offices and smart cities while acknowledging the shortcomings of existing gamification practices.
Galen Brown
PhD Student 
Computer Science
gibrown@wpi.edu
My research focuses on using real time visual information to improve robot grasping.
Shou-Shan Chiang
PhD Student 
Robotics Engineering
schiang@wpi.edu
My research aims to model and control soft continuum robotic manipulators and improve the user experience of human-robot interaction.
Gabrielle Conard - Trainee
Gabrielle Conard
MS Student 
Robotics Engineering
ggconard@wpi.edu
My research focuses on the development of biologically-inspired terrestrial robots that can work alongside humans in applications such as space exploration or search and rescue.  I am also interested in wearable assistive technology for people with disabilities, such as hearing loss.
Albert Enyedy
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
ajenyedy@wpi.edu
My research aims to improve the arm motion control speed of WPI’s Atlas robot by using visual feedback to move towards real-time operation, presenting the opportunity for applications such as showing a humanoid robot how to complete a task via mirroring a human participant’s motions.
Prescious Etinosa
PhD Student
Materials Science and Engineering
poetinosa@wpi.edu
My research focuses on robotically assisted tissue engineering and regeneration of biological structures: 3D-robotic positioning/printing of multilayer scaffolds for hard and soft tissue regeneration including dentine, enamel and dentine-enamel junction.
McKenna Gameros
MS Student
Interactive Media & Game Development
mgameros@wpi.edu
My research is focused on making games to teach robot ethics, with an emphasis on placing the player in ethical scenarios to allow for a greater understanding of the problem at hand.
Robin Hall
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
rfhall@wpi.edu
My research aims at creating bio-inspired soft robots capable of aiding in environmental monitoring and climate research.
Steven Hyland - Trainee
Steven Hyland
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
smhyland@wpi.edu
My research focuses on collective manipulation of large objects through a robot swarm, led by a human leader. The applications for this research are assistive environments, manufacturing settings, and extraterrestrial exploration.
Achyuthan Unni Krishnan
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
aunnikrishnan@wpi.edu
My research aims to develop robot autonomy to reduce the physical and cognitive workload in nursing robot teleoperation (personal website).
Tsung-Chi (TC) Lin
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
tlin2@wpi.edu
My research aims to develop intuitive, efficient and ergonomic teleoperation interface for mobile humanoid nursing robots (personal webpage).    
Karmen Lu - Trainee
Karmen Lu
MS Student
Robotics Engineering
klu@wpi.edu
My research explores virtual reality, haptic gloves, and teleoperation.  I am writing a virtual reality program with the goal of enhancing the use of haptic gloves in teleoperation and in simulations of teleoperation.  Additionally, I am interested in the application of virtual reality as a learning/training tool.
Kenechukwu Churchill Mbanisi
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
kcmbanisi@wpi.edu
My research develops biomechanical modeling of a human driver and analyzes the human factors and interaction dynamics of vehicle maneuver (personal website). 
Sean McGovern
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
smmcgovern@wpi.edu
My research is directed towards improving industrial surface spray coverage planning through systematic kinematic constraint analysis, optimization criteria, and user defined preferences.
Tess Meier, Trainee
Tess Meier
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
tbmeier@wpi.edu
My research interests include assistive and rehabilitative robotics, as well as human movement students and neuroscience.  I am currently working on studying brain activation during hand exoskeleton use and exploring the effects of different user control mechanisms on neurorehabilitation. 
Dan Moyer - Trainee
Dan Moyer
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
dmoyer@wpi.edu
My research aims to develop adaptive controllers that leverage real-world data for online improvement of dynamic models for soft robotic systems during policy learning to reduce the gap between simulation and real-world performance.
Arvand Navabi
PhD Student
Civil Engineering
amnavabi@wpi.edu
My research in robot assisted deposition in additive manufacturing of materials is optimized based on creation of high performance materials, my job is to transfer insight about contact and adhesion of material in the deposition process.
Nicholas Pacheco- Trainee
Nicholas Pacheco
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
nepacheco@wpi.edu
My research is focused on developing a robotic system with a steerable laser fiber that can automate laser-tissue interactions for use in in-office laser surgery.
Nicholas Pratt
PhD Student
Mechanical Engineering
nrpratt@wpi.edu
My research is focused on improving the resolution and reliability of inkjet printing conductive traces to expand the types of devices inkjet printing  can be used to manufacture, such as sensors for human interfacing.
Raagini Rameshwar
Raagini Rameshwar
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
rrameshwar@wpi.edu
My research is focuses on robot arm teleoperation as a demonstration tool in a Learning from Demonstration context, as well as the use of soft robotic technology to provide haptic feedback during teleoperation.
Gaayathri Sankar
MS Student
Business School, Innovation with User Experience
gsankar@wpi.edu
My research is focuses on persona development using Type 2 diabietic patient Electronic Health Record (EHR) data to customize technology design based on risk factors related to health as well as demographics.
Vanessa Uzonwanne
PhD Student
Materials Science and Engineering
vouzonwanne@wpi.edu
My research focuses on the detection and treatment of Triple Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC) cells by quantifying mechanical biomarkers (adhesion force and viscoelastic properties) and integrating robotics-assisted laser-nanoparticle interaction for localized hyperthermia treatment.
Zhuoyun Zhong
PhD Student
Robotics Engineering
zzhong3@wpi.edu
My research focuses on the development of assisted navigation interfaces for high-mobility nursing robots.