Meet the Team

The Economy Team

Emily playing in the creche

Emily Herries

  • WPI Class of 2011, Industrial Engineering
  • The moment I heard about the Cape Town Project Center I knew I wanted to be a part of it. The idea of going to a country where the culture is so different and actually being able to help people there has always been a goal of mine. This project has turned into a truly life changing experience and I know I’ve grown as a person since the start of it. I’m going to get so much out of this and I will definitely never forget it.

Kayla Schutte

  • WPI Class of 2011, Environmental Studies
  • Sustainability is something I’ve always been interested in, and this project experience was better than I ever could have expected, the opportunity to travel to the beautiful country of South Africa, and work with a community organization that is working to implement the environmental conservation practices that I study in school was absolutely amazing.

James Silvia

  • WPI Class of 2011, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • The opportunity to visit South Africa and to work on sustainable redevelopment in an informal settlement was something that I refused to pass up.  As my first project center choice, I was excited to experience Cape Town, a unique city that I never thought I’d get the chance to visit. Throughout my time here I have learned a lot about life outside of the United States by studying the complex parts that make up informal settlements.

Jen Spinney

  • WPI Class of 2011, Computer Science
  • I came to Cape Town because I saw an opportunity to make a real difference in the world. At this project centre, I felt like I was contributing to something much more important than a typical school project. I chose to work on the economy team in particular because I believe a solid local economy is the foundation on which all other real, sustainable change can come. I sincerely hope the work we’ve done here will help provide that foundation and bring at least a few people a step closer to achieving their own aspirations.

The Co-Researchers


Zimkhita Lobishe

  • Lives in Endlovini A-section
  • Age: 20
  • Originally from the King Williem, Eastern Cape
  • I live with my mother and sister. I have one son named Ahlumelo. My hobbies are watching TV and cooking. In my spare time I go to church. In the future I want to study and go further in life. I see myself as a lawyer. On my father’s side of the family there are about 25 people and there are 30 on my mother’s side.
  • This is who I am and who I want to be in life.

Bongeka Dumbulu

  • Lives in Endlovini A-section
  • Age: 23
  • Originally from the Tsolo, Eastern Cape
  • I live with 2 brothers and 2 sisters
  • My hobbies are watching TV and reading newspapers
  • I have a daughter named Avela

Please contact students via until May 2011, and thereafter.